Liga MX Femenil

The finals are coming: Liga MX Femenil

Credit: @LigaBBVAFemenil on Twitter

The Liga MX Femenil final for this Guard1anes 2021 tournament is going to be epic, with the best teams of the championship set to play against each other.

The Clásicos did not let us down in the semifinals, with two exciting matches before the big final. It shouldn’t come as a surprise since the leaders were going to go out and play for the title, but at certain instances there was hope for their rivals.

Tigres – Rayadas

There was strong competition between these teams in another edition of the Clásico Regio, since this is the first time they have met at this round. Tigres was expected to win and that’s exactly what happened. The first leg ended 2-2, with the Rayadas squad giving it their heart and soul to achieve the draw after they lost their goalkeeper to a handball outside of the penalty area.

Tigres had a lot of opportunities, but when Nancy Antonio scored in the second half, Rayadas had a moment of inspiration and came back to score two goals, scored by Cristina Burkenroad and Desire Monsivais. The Felinas kept trying to find their second goal, which finally showed up in the last minute thanks to Blanca Solis and was quite the unlucky bounce for Rayadas. 

The result of the first leg gave Tigres their ticket for the finals, but they wanted more at their stadium. The second game started off strong with an early goal scored by Stephanie Mayor – her first in Clásico Regio history. Belen Cruz showed up to score the 2-0 with a golazo, her sixth in the Playoffs. When it was believed that Rayadas couldn’t come back, Diana Evangelista scored a magnificent goal to put the score 2-1. Despite the momentum Rayadas had, Nancy Antonio and Lizbeth Ovalle started the second half with a goal, liquidating the aspirations of the rival team.

Tigres won 4-1 (6-3) and is set for the Liga MX Femenil Final. 

Belen Cruz Goal
Diana Evangelista Goal

This was the 21st time both squads met each other. Considering Tigres victory, las felinas have eight triumphs, Rayadas have five and they have ended in a draw eight times.

Tigres have three Liga MX Femenil titles, all of them playing against Rayadas. Now they will face a new club in the fight for their fourth trophy, for the second time in a row.

Chivas – Atlas

The Clásico Tapatío first leg ended in a goalless draw with only four shots on goal between Atlas and Chivas. This result was good for Las Rojinegras, as they were going to play as the away team in the second leg. This meant that if they scored a goal, Chivas would be forced to score one more than their opponents because of the away goals aggregate.

The second leg was a game with opportunities for both sides. It was a tight and tense game until the first goal of the night, which was scored by Miriam Garcia at the end of the first half. Atlas goalkeeper, Ana Gaby Paz, made a huge save, but the ball hit the crossbar and was found by Chivas midfielder.

Atlas kept their heads up, but with just 20 minutes left of the game, Chivas took a 2-0 advantage with an own goal scored by Atlas player Ana Garcia. Already eliminated, the goal of honour for the Rojinegras squad arrived thanks to a well-executed penalty that was taken by Alison Gonzalez, the top scorer of the tournament. 

Unfortunately, it was too late and the Rebaño Sagrado moved to their second final in their history after defeating their city rival for the sixth time. Atlas has won four games, and they have also drawn in four other occasions.


Miriam Garcia Goal

Alison Gonzalez Goal

In the only final they have ever played, Chivas lost 2-0 in the first game against Pachuca and won the second leg 3-0 for a 3-2 overall. It was the first Liga MX Femenil tournament ever played, held back in 2017. Let’s see if Chivas is able to lift their second title in women’s professional soccer league in Mexico.

And then there were two…

The days and times are set for the finals – the first leg is going to be next Monday, May 24th at Estadio Akron in Guadalajara, Jalisco. The Estadio Universitario in Monterrey, Nuevo Leon is going to be the home for the second leg on May 31st.

History will be witnessed between these teams. Who will be crowned as the champion?

Finals Schedule:

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

Copyright © 2021 She Scores

To Top