. . .

Category: WNBA

Delle Donne and Mystics cap historic season

The Washington Mystics won the WNBA finals for the first time in franchise history on Thursday. (Photo by Ethan Miller/Getty Images.) WASHINGTON — Rebounding, pace and depth. Those three factors are what decided the WNBA finals as Washington won their first title in franchise history with an 89-78 victory over the Connecticut Sun on Thursday. […]

PREVIEW: Mystics and Sun to face off in WNBA finals

(Photo courtesy of WNBA.com) They say if it’s not broken don’t fix it and the two teams battling it out for the title have followed that method. The Washington Mystics and Connecticut Sun returned to almost their entire lineups from last season and the chemistry has led to success. Washington will get home court advantage […]

Mystics return to WNBA finals

(Photo courtesy of Monumental SportsNet Twitter account.) LAS VEGAS (Sept. 24, 2019) – With WNBA MVP Elena Delle Donne’s 25 points against the Las Vegas Aces, the Washington Mystics are finals bound for the second straight season. The Mystics defeated the Aces 94-90 in Game 4 to close their best-of-five semifinal series on Tuesday night. […]

Connecticut Sun advance to the WNBA finals

Jasmine Thomas led the Connecticut Sun with 29 points. (Photo courtesy of Connecticut Sun Twitter account.) LONG BEACH, Calif. (Sept. 22, 2019) — Connecticut Sun swept the best-of-five semi-final series in three games against the Los Angeles Sparks. The 78-56 win on Sunday advanced the Sun to the finals for the first time since 2005, […]

PREVIEW: WNBA final four is full of elite teams

Washington Mystics star Elena Delle Donne. (Photo courtesy of Bleacher Report.) With single elimination games out of the way, the playoffs will reach another level of intensity starting Tuesday. The best-of-five format for semis will allow for the teams to adjust strategy and should allow the best teams to win. Las Vegas Aces (21-13, 4th […]

PREVIEW: Get ready for the second round of WNBA playoffs

Photo courtesy of WNBA. One more round of single eliminations to determine who joins Washington and Connecticut in the final four will take place on Sunday. First at 3 p.m. ET, Seattle travels to Los Angeles looking to continue their title defense. In the second game of the afternoon, at 5 p.m. ET, the Las […]

Preview: First Round of WNBA Playoffs

The 2019 WNBA playoff brackets. (Photo courtesy of WNBA.) The WNBA regular season officially wrapped up Sept. 8 and players are now in playoff mode. The first round, scheduled for Sept. 11, has Phoenix Mercury facing Chicago Sky and Minnesota Lynx playing Seattle Storm. Read on for a preview of both match ups. Phoenix Mercury […]

Weekly Rebound: It’s almost playoff season

Dallas Wings star Arike Ogunbowale. (Photo courtesy of WNBA.com.) One week remains in the regular season and although all eight playoff spots are secured there is still so much in the air. Connecticut and Washington are battling for the top seed and home court throughout the playoffs. Las Vegas, Los Angeles and Chicago are fighting […]

WNBA Weekly Rebound: Playoff Push

Photo courtesy of WNBA. With roughly a third of the season left, the playoffs are approaching fast. This article takes a look at what every team has at risk as the league enters the final push for seeds to determining qualification and possible byes through the first two rounds.  . POWER RANKINGS Based on recent […]

Weekly Rebound: All-Stars Edition

A’ja Wilson and Elena Delle Donne will captain the All-Star teams this Saturday. (Photo courtesy of Ned Dishman/Jeff Bottari/NBAE/Getty Images.) The All-Star game is this Saturday and it is a good time to look at the top players in the league. With such a small league, not every team can have an All-Star. However, there […]